Latest Articles Published

12 Longest-Serving African Presidents

/ July 21, 2014

American author, speaker and pastor once said, “A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.” The welfare of the citizens of a nation depends greatly on its leader. But most of these leaders don’t want to let go of the power because of greed. Many of the longest-serving Presidents in the world are from Africa.

Below is the list of the 12 Longest Serving African Presidents:

12. Denis Sassou Nguesso – Republic of Congo: 16 years in power

This Congolese politician is the current President of the Republic of Congo. He has been serving the nation in this capacity since 25th October 1997.


11. Yahya Jammeh – Gambia: 19 years in power

Yahya Jammeh is the President of Gambia. He assumed the office on 22nd July 1994.


10. Isaias Afwerki – Eritrea: 23 years in power

Isaias Afwerki is the first President of the State of Eritrea. He assumed the office on 27th April 1991, when the nation gained its independence.


9. Idriss Deby – Chad: 23 years in power

This Chadian politician has been serving the nation as its President since 2nd December 1990.